THE 1.618 BIENNALE :
THE “EMOTION SQUARE”

In an ultra connected world, luxury must reevaluate the value of time, give it back its nobility, and put it back in the center of our lives. For that, it must not only stimulate our imagination but embrace our enthusiasm, our passions, pay homage to the senses.

“The Emotion Square as a manifesto of New Luxury”

The 21st century luxury must pay tribute to the senses and bring a role to humanity by embracing intergenerational values: more than a relationship from man to object, we are now talking about a human to human relationship.
The enduring cause is the very essence of luxury: its main quality lies in the fact that it is not programmed to perish …

Emotion Square is a place for meetings and experimentation where everyone can afford the luxury of having time to listen to themselves and listen to the world.
We chose to build it to illustrate the values that embody the luxury of tomorrow: an emotional experience, but also a moment of sharing and exchange.

“Emotion is the only way through which one reaches the understanding.”

Emotion Square is a place for meetings and experimentation where everyone can afford the luxury of having time to listen to themselves and listen to the world.

Because only meaning can guide the action and make it intelligible, 1.618 wanted to propose a space of exploration both “in margin” and “at the heart” of the Biennale. Based on a reflection upon what should be the true luxury of tomorrow, Emotion Square invites the public to live a human and unbridled experience around the senses and emotions.

At the center of the project: the public.

The Emotion Square is not a place for exhibitions or speeches. There will be no objects or works exposed. It is a space voluntarily devoid of technology that gives way to the human, to the presence of the body and to the interaction of emotions, that we have chosen to conceive as a large wooden cabin with an organic form that can recall a giant heart, allegory of the central organ of our emotions.

The proposed experience is both initiatory (allowing for strong awareness) and holistic (mixing mind, emotions and body).

During the three days of The 1.618 Biennale, the Emotion Square will run a rich program where the public will be able to live experiences with strong emotional value in an enchanted parenthesis.

LA BIENNALE 1.618 :
« L’EMOTION SQUARE »

Dans un monde ultra connecté, le luxe doit réévaluer la valeur « temps », lui redonner ses lettres de noblesse, et la remettre au centre de nos vies. Pour cela, il ne doit plus seulement stimuler notre imagination mais embrasser notre enthousiasme, nos passions, rendre hommage aux sens.

« L’Emotion comme manifesto du Nouveau Luxe »

Le luxe du 21ème siècle doit rendre hommage aux sens et apporter un rôle à l’humanité en embrassant des valeurs intergénérationnelles : plus qu’un rapport de l’homme à l’objet, nous parlons maintenant d’un rapport d’Homme à Homme.
La cause durable est l’essence même du luxe : sa qualité principale réside dans le fait qu’il n’est pas programmé pour périr…

L’Emotion Square est un lieu de rencontres et d’expérimentation où chacun peut s’offrir le luxe de s’accorder le temps de s’écouter et d’écouter le monde. Nous avons choisi de le construire pour en faire l’illustration des valeurs qui incarnent le luxe de demain : une expérience émotionnelle mais aussi un moment de partage et d’échange.

« L’émotion est le seul moyen à travers lequel on accède à l’entendement. »

Parce que seul le sens permet d’orienter l’action et de la rendre intelligible, 1.618 a souhaité proposer un espace d’exploration à la fois « en marge » et « au cœur » de la Biennale. Partant sur une réflexion autour de ce que devrait être le vrai luxe de demain, l’Emotion Square convie le public à vivre une expérience humaine et débridée autour des sens et des émotions.

Au centre du dispositif : le public.

L’Emotion Square n’est pas un lieu d’exposition ou de prise de parole. N’y seront exposés ni objets ni œuvres. C’est un espace volontairement dénué de technologie qui laisse place à l’humain, à la présence des corps, et à l’interaction des émotions, que nous avons choisi de concevoir comme une grande cabane en bois de forme organique pouvant rappeler un cœur géant, allégorie de l’organe central de nos émotions.

L’expérience proposée est à la fois initiatique (permettant des prises de conscience fortes) et holistique (mêlant l’esprit, les émotions et le corps).

Durant les trois jours de La Biennale 1.618, l’Emotion Square déroulera une programmation riche où le public pourra vivre des expériences à forte valeur émotionnelle dans une parenthèse enchantée.

CREDIT Emotion Square

PHOTO: Julie Ansiau / Les Merveilles