The climate march was 6 times bigger than the previous ones!

Hundreds of thousands of people walked the streets all over the world on September Sunday 21st “Marching for the Climate”, a historical march in New York, with the goal to put pressure on the UN summit dedicated to climate change that took place yesterday.

14900-140984285-370x0-1

 

The meeting gathering Heads of State at the UN Headquarters is not officially held in the context of the UN negotiations on climate that are to be held in Paris in 2015 during the COP 21, but stands as an icebreaker and allow more than 125 Heads of State to walk on the path towards an agreement.

And it is not starting well: the major polluters of the planet refused to participate, or for some, even show up. While China is, since 2008 the number one emitter of carbon dioxide, its President Xi Jinping did not greet the meeting with his presence. Even though they will be present in New York, the new Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi (whose country occupies the 3rd place in terms of emissions) stayed away from the discussion on the climate. Vladimir Putin, the Russian President (4th) has had other priorities lately, and Japan (5th) has shown little cooperation since the Fukushima turmoil which greatly damaged the support to nuclear power.

humansign

Demonstrations all over the world

Two hours before the start, thousands of people were gathered along Central Park, holding huge cardboard sunflowers, some messages hostile to “dirty energies” or T-shirts condemning climate related starvation. Indian Americans also came in traditional outfits.

A UN Summit on Climate gathered more than 120 Heads of State and Government


The goal of this march was to push political leaders to ambitious and concrete actions against climate change, and commit before the International Conference of Parties to be held in Paris at the end of 2015.

10668651_10205160615794515_

Demonstration were organized everywhere in the world, among other cities New York, London, Berlin, Amsterdam, Paris, Stockholm, Rome, Madrid, New Delhi, Melbourne or Rio de Janeiro.

According to the organizers, a total of more than 2 700 events were planned in 158 countries. Tens of thousands of people have indeed walked the streets of London. Among which were the victims of the floods in England last winter as well as the actress Emma Thompson, who is coming back from an expedition in the Arctic Circle with Greenpeace to raise awareness on the issue of ice-melting in this region.

Close to 5000 people demonstrated in Paris, in a very family friendly environment. “Yesterday, we could say that we didn’t know. Today, we know. Climate change is already a reality”, underlined Nicolas Hulot, special correspondent of the French President for the protection of the planet.

PHO6a89982e-41a5-11e4-b0b9-

In New York, the actor Leonardo DiCaprio, freshly appointed “peace messenger” for the UN, the General Secretary Ban Ki-Moon, former Vice-President Al Gore and New York’s Mayor Bill de Blasio attended the March, as well as French Foreign Office Minister Laurent Fabius and Minister of Ecology Ségolène Royal.

More than 1400 groups were associated with the New York’s march, labor unions, environmentalists, scientists, students coming from 320 American campuses, artists, religious groups, hurricane Sandy’s victims. Some demonstrators were coming all the way from India, Zimbabwe, Senegal or the Marshall Islands, threatened of being swallowed by the Pacific Ocean.

After a moment of silence to pay a tribute to the victims of climate change, marchers were invited to “sound the alarm on climate” by making a maximum of noise with trumpets, vuvuzelas, percussions, bells and whitles. More than 32 marching bands were there to help.

Capture-d’écran-2014-09-23-

Some figures to better understand this march

Carbon dioxide emissions have reach 35.1 billion tons in 2013, an all time record, in progression by 29% over 10 years. On a yearly basis, China, that amounts for 358 million tons, has seen an increase superior to that of all the other countries united, and it represents on its own 24.8% of the emissions produced over the past 5 years. Over the same period, 57.5% of the world’s CO2 emissions came from emerging countries.

1507943_776876235691768_744

The 1.618 team Paris has walked walked and walked the Parisian streets and selected a few key moments to share with you in this leap of solidarity and global consciousness.

how to make a gif

Une marche pour le climat 6 fois plus importante que toutes les autres manifestations précédentes !

Des centaines de milliers de personnes ont manifesté dans le monde entier dimanche 21 septembre « pour le climat », avec un défilé historique à New York, dans le but de faire pression sur le sommet de l’ONU consacré au changement climatique qui s’est tenu mardi.

14900-140984285-370x0-1

La réunion des chefs d’Etat au siège de l’ONU ne fait pas officiellement partie des négociations onusiennes sur le climat, qui doivent avoir pour point d’orgue le sommet de Paris en 2015, mais elle a pour objectif de briser la glace et de permettre à plus de 125 chefs d’Etat de prendre le chemin d’un consensus.

Et cela ne démarre pas sous les meilleurs auspices : les principaux pollueurs de la planète ont refusé de participer, voire de faire une simple apparition. Alors que la Chine est depuis 2008 le numéro un des émissions de dioxyde de carbone, son président Xi Jinping n’a pas fait l’honneur de sa présence à la réunion onusienne. Bien que présent à New York, le nouveau Premier ministre indien Narendra Modi (dont le pays occupe la troisième place en termes d’émissions) a boudé les discussions sur le climat. Vladimir Poutine, le président de la Russie (numéro 4) avait d’autres priorités ces temps-ci, et le Japon (numéro 5) se montre peu coopératif depuis la catastrophe de Fukushima, qui a ébranlé le soutien au nucléaire.

humansign

Des manifestations partout dans le monde

Deux heures avant qu’elle ne démarre, des milliers de personnes étaient déjà rassemblées le long de Central Park, portant d’immenses tournesols en carton, des pancartes hostiles aux « énergies sales » ou des tee-shirts dénonçant la faim associée au changement climatique. Des Indiens d’Amérique y étaient venus en tenue traditionnelle.

Un sommet de l’ONU sur le climat, réunira aujourd’hui plus de 120 chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement

Cette marche avait pour objectif de pousser les responsables politiques à agir de manière ambitieuse et concrète contre le changement climatique, et à s’engager, avant la conférence internationale de Paris fin 2015.

10668651_10205160615794515_

Des manifestations étaient organisées partout dans le monde, notamment à New York, Londres, Berlin, Amsterdam, Paris, Stockholm, Rome, Madrid, New Delhi, Melbourne ou Rio de Janeiro.

Selon les organisateurs, au total plus de 2.700 événements étaient prévus dans 158 pays.
Plusieurs dizaines de milliers de personnes ont ainsi défilé dans les rues de Londres. Parmi les manifestants figuraient des victimes des inondations en Angleterre l’hiver passé, ainsi que l’actrice britannique Emma Thompson, qui revient d’une expédition en Arctique avec Greenpeace pour dénoncer la fonte des glaces.

Près de 5000 personnes ont manifesté à Paris, dans une ambiance plutôt familiale. « Hier, on pouvait dire qu’on ne savait pas. Aujourd’hui, on sait. Le changement (climatique) est déjà en marche », a souligné Nicolas Hulot, envoyé spécial du président français pour la protection de la planète.

 

PHO6a89982e-41a5-11e4-b0b9-

A New York, l’acteur Leonardo DiCaprio, tout juste nommé « messager de la paix » de l’ONU, le secrétaire général de l’ONU Ban Ki-moon, l’ancien vice-président américain Al Gore et le maire de New York Bill de Blasio devaient participer à la marche, ainsi que le ministre français des Affaires étrangères Laurent Fabius et la ministre de l’Ecologie Ségolène Royal.

Plus de 1400 groupes s’étaient associés à la marche new-yorkaise, syndicalistes, écologistes, scientifiques, étudiants venus de 320 campus américains, artistes, groupes religieux, victimes de l’ouragan Sandy. Certains manifestants étaient venus d’Inde, du Zimbabwe, du Sénégal ou encore des îles Marshall, menacées d’être englouties par l’océan Pacifique.

Après un moment de silence pour rendre hommage aux victimes du changement climatique, les marcheurs avaient été invités à « sonner l’alarme sur le climat » en faisant un maximum de bruit avec trompettes, vuvuzelas, tambours, cloches et sifflets. Plus de 32 fanfares étaient là pour les y aider. Les cloches des églises avaient également prévu de sonner au même moment.

Capture-d’écran-2014-09-23-

Quelques chiffres pour mieux comprendre cette marche.

Les émissions mondiales de CO2 ont atteint 35,1 milliards de tonnes en 2013, soit un nouveau record, en progression de 29 % sur les dix dernières années. En glissement annuel, la Chine, qui culmine à 358 millions de tonnes, enregistre une hausse supérieure à celle de tous les autres pays du monde réunis, et elle représente à elle seule 24,8 % des émissions produites ces cinq dernières années. Sur la même période, 57,5 % des émissions de CO2 mondiales sont venues des pays en développement.

1507943_776876235691768_744

L’équipe 1.618 Paris a marché, marché, marché dans les rues parisiennes et a repéré pour vous quelques moments clés de cet élan de solidarité et de conscience mondiale…

how to make a gif