1.618 NEWS | Interview with the founders of Zady

1.618 Paris counts itself as a part of an international network of entrepreneurs, brands, industry professionals, academics, NGOs and creatives that are driven by sustainability. This active and widespread community has made tremendous strides in bringing sustainable development to the forefront of the corporate and global agenda, driven by consumer demand and the interest in creating a better world.

One of the latest newcomers to this community is Zady, a destination of beautifully curated products including womenswear, menswear and a collection of items for the home, where every single piece has both a traceable origin and a rich story. We had the chance to catch up with the Founders, Soraya and Maxine, and invite you to discover their vision of conscious consumerism, experience and their surprising customer demographics in this latest interview.

zady_Slider 940450

.

What was the tipping point which led to the creation of Zady?

o We began Zady many months before the horrific building collapse at Rana Plaza in Bangladesh. The vast human injustices that took place close to a year ago have been a true wake-up call to the world. Beyond unsafe and illegal working conditions, fast-fashion production cycles cause excess pollution, taint our water with harmful dyes – and what for? It’s all in the name of poor-quality products, made overseas, intentionally designed to be thrown away after a handful of washes. After all, that’s how these brands get us to buy more. With fast-fashion products, we are unable to build a lasting wardrobe or home collection over time, as our grandparents once did.

.

What is Zady? What does the name mean? Who is your target audience?

o \ zay-dee\

  • A Yiddish nickname for a beloved grandparent; caretaker [Heritage]
  • From the Middle Eastern meaning of prosperous [Prosperity]
  • Zady is a destination for consumers to purchase high-quality, luxuriously made goods that are timeless in style, from designers and brands that offer complete manufacturing transparency. Just as Whole Foods sparked a movement based on the belief that we should question where our food comes from, Zady is at the forefront of a movement, known as conscious consumerism, which demands transparency for sourced products. The Zady founders personally vet each product and every brand must sign a contract verifying the location of the company, the manufacturing city and the source of the raw materials.

    .

    What is your vision of sustainable fashion?

    o Sustainable is a difficult word to define, because it embodies so much. At Zady we describe the quality of product by designating original badges.

  • Locally Sourced
  • Handmade
  • High Quality Raw Materials
  • Environmentally Conscious
  • Made in the USA
  • The Bootstrap Project (for the products made by artisans that are part of Zady’s non-profit partner)
  • .

    What do you hope to achieve through Zady?

    o We hope to become the Whole Foods of Fashion, a brand synonymous with high-quality products and a deep commitment to supply chain transparency.

    .

    Since the launch, what have you learned about your consumers/clients/brands (demographics, interests/needs)? Has this enforced your vision and passion for a sustainable future?

    o We thought going into Zady our customers would be, by and large, hipster – or early adopters, at the edge of a new movement. Since launch, and especially since our pop-up shop at LGA airport, we’ve been pleasantly surprised to learn our customers are 18-70 (though our sweet spot is 20-40 year olds), geographically dispersed across America.

    .

    Why is an organization like 1.618 Paris important?

    o Your support of responsible companies that make ethical and ecological choices is inspiring. You understand the aesthetics and innovations that go into making brands that stand out amongst the fray. We appreciate that you celebrate the companies who are working to challenge the norm.

    .

    How is Zady connecting with their customers? In terms of engagement what programs do you have in place?

    o Social Media, Two way brand, participatory commerce

     Example of asking our customers what they’d like on Zady, sourcing the right product and then soliciting a positive response on social media. You asked, we listened…

    ZADY_Slider 940450

    .

    How do you source your brands?

    o We source our brands through traditional methods like attending trade shows, but have also seen an overwhelming response from our community who submit products for our consideration.

    [sharethis]

L’ACTU 1.618 | Rencontre avec les fondatrices de Zady

1.618 Paris rassemble un réseau international d’entrepreneurs, de marques, d’industriels, d’institutionnels, de créatifs et d’ONG partageant le même intérêt pour le développement durable. Cette vaste communauté est à l’origine de la place de plus en plus importante du développement durable au sein des préoccupations des entreprises à travers le monde. Cet engagement provient notamment de la demande des consommateurs, ainsi que d’un intérêt partagé pour la construction d’un monde meilleur.

Zady, nouveau venu de cette communauté, propose une vaste gamme de produits joliment conçus. Du prêt-à-porter féminin et masculin aux objets pour la maison, chaque produit a son histoire et une parfaite traçabilité. Nous avons eu la chance de rencontrer les fondatrices de Zady, Soraya et Maxine. Voici un aperçu de leur expérience, de leur vision d’une consommation responsable et quelques données surprenantes sur la démographie de leurs clients.

zady_Slider 940450

Quel a été le point de départ de Zady ?

● Nous avons créé Zady quelques mois avant l’effroyable effondrement du bâtiment du Rana Plaza au Bangladesh. Les grandes injustices humaines qui ont eu lieu il y a maintenant un an ont servi de sonnette d’alarme pour le monde entier. Au-delà des conditions de travail précaires et illégales, les cycles de production du fast-fashion engendrent une pollution excessive, souillent nos eaux de colorants néfastes – et tout cela pour quoi ? Au nom de produits de pauvre qualité, fabriqués à l’étranger et volontairement conçus pour être jetés après une poignée de lavages en machine. Après tout, c’est comme cela que ces marques-là arrivent à nous faire acheter toujours plus. Avec les produits fast-fashion, il nous devient difficile de conserver une garde-robe dans le temps, ou des articles de maison, tel que nos grands-parents le faisaient.

Qu’est-ce que Zady ? Que signifie son nom ? Quel est votre public cible ?

● \ zay-dee\

Un surnom yiddish qui désigne un grand-parent bien-aimé, un ange-gardien [Héritage] De la signification prospère, au Moyen-Orient [Prospérité]

Zady est une destination qui propose aux consommateurs des biens de grande qualité – fabrication soignée et luxueuse, style atemporel, ils sont le fruit de designers et marques qui offrent une transparence complète sur leur processus de production. De la même façon que Whole Foods a initié un mouvement qui nous pousse à nous interroger sur la provenance de notre nourriture, Zady est à l’avant-garde d’un mouvement : la consommation responsable, qui exige une transparence sur l’origine des produits. Les fondateurs de Zady vérifient personnellement chaque produit, et chaque marque doit signer un contrat qui certifie de l’emplacement de la compagnie, la ville de production et l’origine des matières premières.

Quelle est votre vision de la mode durable ?

o Durable est un mot compliqué à définir, car il englobe tant de choses. Chez Zady, nous décrivons la qualité d’un produit par des certifications authentiques.

  • Sourcé localement
  • Fabriqué à la main
  • Matières premières de haute qualité
  • Respectueux de l’environnement
  • Fait aux États-Unis
  • Le Bootstrap Project (pour les produits fabriqués par les artisans du partenaire à but non lucratif de Zady)

.

Que souhaitez-vous accomplir grâce à Zady ?

o Nous espérons devenir le Whole Foods de la Mode, une marque synonyme de produits de haute qualité avec un engagement signifiant envers la transparence de la chaîne d’approvisionnement.

.

Depuis votre lancement, qu’avez-vous appris sur vos consommateurs/clients/marques (données démographiques, intérêts, besoins) ? Cela a-t-il renforcé votre vision et votre passion pour un avenir durable ?

o En lançant Zady, nous pensions que nos clients seraient, en grande partie, des hipsters ou des personnes à l’avant-garde d’un nouveau mouvement. Depuis notre lancement, et en particulier depuis notre pop-up shop dans l’aéroport de LaGuardia, nous avons été agréablement surpris d’apprendre que nos clients sont âgés de 18 à 70 ans (bien que notre point fort soit les 20-40 ans), et sont dispersés un peu partout en Amérique.

.

En quoi un organisme comme 1.618 Paris est-il important ?

o Votre soutien envers les compagnies responsables qui font des choix éthiques et écologiques est inspirant. Vous comprenez l’esthétique et l’innovation grâce auxquelles les marques se distinguent. Nous admirons votre soutien envers les compagnies qui s’efforcent de défier les normes.

.

De quelle façon communiquez-vous avec vos clients ? En termes d’engagement, quels sont les programmes que vous avez mis en place ?

o Les médias sociaux, une communication bidirectionnelle, un commerce participatif

 Par exemple, demander directement aux consommateurs ce qu’ils aimeraient voir sur Zady, sourcer le bon produit, et enfin solliciter
une réponse positive via les réseaux sociaux. Vous avez demandé, nous avons écouté…

ZADY_Slider 940450

.

Comment sourcez-vous vos marques ?

o Nous sourçons nos marques par des méthodes traditionnelles, tel qu’assister à des salons. Mais nous avons également une quantité remarquable de réponses de la part de notre communauté, qui soumet des produits à notre appréciation.

[sharethis]