ART | Meet artist Olga Kisseleva

Olga_Portfolio

Olga Kisseleva : At the intersection of Twitter and Time

1.618 Sustainable Luxury event will receive April 4-6, 2014 a number of renowned and emerging artists who will expose their work within our contemporary art exhibition titled, “Le temps au temps” and designed by Coal.
One such artist is the Russian born, Olga Kisseleva, who will present for the first time her work titled « Tweet Time » (2014). The work is represented by a clock which moves back in time for every tweet associated with words which reflect time and our lack of it. Our constant and unconscious reflection will be placed under her proverbial microscope. Never again will we be able to tap or murmur the words “no time”, “missing out”, “almost there”, “wait for me”, “5minlate”, etc. without being reminded that time is fleeting and we should take a moment to actually appreciate it. Take the time to come discover this work!

Who is Olga Kisseleva?

Born in Leningrad in 1965, she works and lives between Paris and Saint Petersburg. Active in a number of countries Olga has been teaching contemporary art at the Sorbonne for several years. Her work consists of creating elaborate sculptures filled with complex mechanisms and video installations. She has written a number of academic books and regularly speaks at conferences across the world. Her approach to art is born of a experimental vision rather than an empirical one.
She is heavily invested in the international art scene. Her experiences linked to participating at a number of biennales (Venice and Dakar) and the themes that she promotes through her art (poetic terrorism to art which serves to evacuate reality), plays on the interface of the real and virtual space and explores the role of the artist in a contemporary society.

[sharethis]

ART | Qui est l’artiste Olga Kisseleva?

Olga_Portfolio

L’artiste Olga Kisseleva : Au croisement de Twitter et du Temps

L’événement 1.618 Sustainable Luxury accueille du 4 au 6 avril prochain, des artistes reconnus et émergents qui exposeront leur travail au sein de l’exposition d’art contemporain conçue par Coal « Le temps au temps ».
Parmi eux, l’artiste d’origine russe Olga Kisseleva présentera pour la première fois son œuvre « Tweet Time » (2014). Il s’agit d’une horloge qui remonte le temps à chaque tweet mentionnant des termes ou expressions en lien avec le manque de temps. Nos réflexions constantes et inconscientes sur le temps seront placées sous son microscope proverbial. Plus jamais taperons-nous ou soufflerons-nous les mots « pas le temps », « j’arrive bientôt », « attendez-moi », « en retard » sans être rappelés que le temps court et que nous devrions justement prendre le temps de l’apprécier. Une œuvre à prendre le temps de venir découvrir !

Qui est l’artiste Olga Kisseleva ?

Née à Leningrad en 1965, elle vit et travaille à Paris et à Saint-Pétersbourg. Active dans un grand nombre de pays, Olga Kisseleva enseigne l’art contemporain à la Sorbonne depuis plusieurs années. Elle élabore des sculptures dotées de mécanismes complexes, réalise des installations vidéo, est l’auteure de plusieurs ouvrages universitaires et donne régulièrement des conférences à travers le monde. Son approche de l’art est fondée sur une vision plus expérimentale qu’empirique.
Olga Kisseleva est très investie dans la scène artistique internationale. Ses expériences réalisées lors de différentes biennales (de Venise à Dakar), et les thèmes qu’elle privilégie pour ses expositions (du terrorisme poétique à l’art pour évacuer la réalité), jouent sur l’interface des espaces réels et virtuels, et explorent le rôle de l’artiste dans la société contemporaine.

[sharethis]