1.618 Paris will present partnership with MINIWIZ for northmodern design-fair in Copenhagen!

miniwiz3

1.618 Paris is pleased to announce a new partnership with the Taiwanese Miniwiz agency specialized in upcycing and sustainable design. As you may already know, 1.618 has the honor to present a curated space Northmodern x 1.618 in the Danish design fair, northmodern, to be held from August 13th to 15th 2015 in Copenhagen. On this occasion, 1.618 entrusted Miniwiz with scenography and design of the 500 m2 space for a unique and sustainable decoration!

What exactly does Miniwiz do?

The Taiwanese engineering and design agency founded in 2004, manufactures construction materials as well as packaging, accessories or other innovative gadgets from recycled post-consumption waste, in an upclycling perspective. The strength of Miniwiz is their ability to recycle EVERYTHING; wood, textiles, organic waste … to turn it into solid, lasting materials that can be used in many areas such as design and architecture.

Their great creations are impressive enough but we were particularly convinced by their aesthetical and contemporary approach. The design, the line and the conceptualization of the projects pave the way to a new era for recycling: a smart, useful and beautiful one!

_MG_6733

According to the founders, “Trash is not necessarily something to get rid of at a high cost for environment. The growing reservoir of 50 years of trash or more is a resource for the future. Make waste a desirable resource, sexify trash, is our first goal.” Turning waste into a resource, changes the perception we have of our rubbish. And the end result is often breathtaking.

For the company, Design has to change; the material selection for a product should come before conception. The work of Miniwiz is based on 3 fundamental principles:

REuse: 100% recycled material only shall compose the product

REduce: minimize the quantity of material needed in products thanks to a particular approach of structures.

REcycle: after usage, products must be re-recycled, which is done in a more sustainable way when a single material is used for its conception

Miniwiz4

Their approach has convinced many manufacturers and their materials have been used for several different architectural projects (Huaqiao Dream World mall, EcoARK… ) indoors (NIKELAB, Huang Residence… ) and installations (for The Nike Feather Pavilion for the Taipei Pavilion for the World Expo 2011… ) but also for building a boat for example…

To take a look at the different building blocks they created here.

In addition to materials and construction projects, Miniwiz also designs furniture and useful objects like dynamo charger for bikes, mini wind chargers, chairs, modular shelving systems (Eco- morph shelf system), Smartphone cases … all in 100% recycled materials.

The company intends to increase its presence on the European market European market, starting with Copenhagen. Indeed, in addition designing the set, Miniwiz will have its own space in the Crystal Hall Curated by 1.618. Come and discover this company and their wonderful work from 13 to 15 August!

www.northmodern.com

[sharethis]

1.618 Paris présente son partenariat avec MINIWIZ à l’occasion du salon northmodern à Copenhague !

miniwiz3

1.618 Paris a le plaisir d’annoncer un nouveau partenariat avec l’agence Taïwanaise Miniwiz, spécialisée dans l’upcycing et le design durable. Comme vous le savez peut-être déjà, 1.618 a l’honneur de présenter un espace de curation Northmodern x 1.618 au salon Danois du design, northmodern, qui se tiendra du 13 au 15 Août 2015 à Copenhague. A cette occasion 1.618 Paris a confié l’élaboration de la scénographie des 500 m2 de l’espace à Miniwiz, pour une décoration unique et durable !

Que fait exactement Miniwiz ?

L’agence d’ingénierie et de conception créée en 2004 fabrique des matériaux de construction ainsi que des packagings, accessoires ou autres gadgets innovants à partir de déchets recyclés, dans une optique d’upclycling durable. Ce qui fait la force de Miniwiz, c’est sa capacité à TOUT recycler; du bois, du textile, des déchets organiques… pour en faire une matière solide, durable et utilisable dans de nombreux domaines tels que le design et l’architecture.

Ce qui nous a tout particulièrement séduit, c’est l’approche esthétique et contemporaine des fondateurs. Le design, le trait et la qualité des projets pensés et conceptualisés démontrent qu’une nouvelle ère s’offre à nous au travers du recyclage : c’est malin, utile et c’est beau !

_MG_6733

Selon les fondateurs : « Les ordures ne sont pas nécessairement quelque chose dont on se débarrasse à un coût élevé pour l’environnement. Le réservoir grandissant de déchets de ces 50 dernières années est une ressource pour l’avenir. » Leur premier objectif est de transformer les déchets en ressource, de changer la perception que nous avons de nos détritus. Le résultat final est souvent époustouflant.

Pour l’entreprise, l’approche du design doit changer ; le choix des matériaux pour un produit devrait venir avant même sa conception. Le travail de Miniwiz repose sur 3 principes fondamentaux, « la règle des 3 Re »:

REutiliser : le produit doit être composé de matières 100% recyclées.

– REduire : minimiser la quantité de matériaux nécessaire au produit grâce à une approche particulière des structures.

REcycler : après usage, les produits doivent être re-recyclés, ce qui se fait d’une manière plus durable lorsqu’un seul matériau est utilisé pour sa conception.

Miniwiz4

Leur démarche a conquis de nombreux constructeurs et c’est ainsi que leurs matériaux ont été utilisés pour des projets d’architecture, (centre commercial Huaqiao Dream World, EcoARK…) d’intérieur (NIKELAB, Huang Residence…) et des installations (pour Nike The Feather Pavilion, pour le Pavillon de Taipei pour l’Exposition Universelle 2011…) mais aussi pour la construction d’un bateau par exemple…

Pour jeter un coup d’œil aux différents projets qu’ils ont créés : c’est ici.

En plus de matériaux et de projets de construction, ils ont aussi conçu du mobilier et des objets utiles comme un chargeur dynamo à coller sur son vélo, des mini-chargeurs éoliens, des chaises, des étagères modulables à monter soi-même(Eco-morph shelf system), des coques de téléphone… le tout en matières 100 % recyclées.

L’entreprise entend bien continuer à étendre son marché Européen, en commençant par Copenhague. Car en plus de s’occuper de la scénographie, Miniwiz aura son propre espace dans le Crystal hall Curated by 1.618. Venez découvrir cette entreprise et admirer leur travail, du 13 au 15 Août prochain !

www.northmodern.com

[sharethis]