REAL LUXURY: the luxury of the 21st Century

Sans-titre-2

“A veritable bible for both professionals and students”, this is how Yaffa Assouline, CEO of Luxury Culture, described the new book written by Misha Pinkhasov & Rachna Joshi Nair.

Real Luxury : How Luxury Brands Can Create Value for the Long Term is a dive in the essence of luxury. It defines and reveals new solutions for an industry undertaking great changes.

According to the authors, real luxury is about leadership rather than the self-indulgence and bling we usually associate with it. Barbara Coignet, founder of 1.618 Paris was even quoted on the subject of the definition of this New Luxury :

“Luxury and sustainable development are not only compatible by nature but also co-dependent.”

New actors emerge like Norlha, brand selected and validated on several editions of the 1.618 Event & also present on the 1.618 Sustainable Luxury Guide. Working with the rare and unique Yak Wool to create outstanding luxury fabrics, they developed a very strict social guideline for their workshops in Nepal.

Luxury groups also embrace this definition of a new luxury. The Kering group, owners of Gucci and Saint Laurent among others, has made sustainability a pillar of its business strategy, with a new Environmental Profit & Loss accounting and ambitious targets announced for 2016. LVMH, meanwhile, has been moving its brands to more high-end grounds, putting forward their heritage and knowhow.

Photo-Rachna

But the most interesting point made by the authors is the role model played by luxury customers. According to Misha and Rachna:

“The luxury customer is a decision maker and an example setter: celebrities, heads of state, corporate executives […] Are luxury brands using that relationship to make a positive impact on the world, or are they just pandering to the long tail of aspirants behind these leaders? Also, because what starts as luxury percolates down to the mass market, we are seeing how all sorts of mass brands are successfully imitating the luxury aesthetic. So it becomes harder for luxury brands to set themselves apart.”

hp_MishaPinkhasov

If you wish to discover this encyclopedia of the 21st Luxury and its authors who took part in the program of conferences of the 2014 Edition of the 1.618 Event, one address…

http://www.realluxurybook.com/.

Save the date: During your visit to the next edition of the 1.618 Event from 3rd to 5th of April 2015 at the Carreau du Temple, you might have the chance to meet them in person…

Real Luxury: How Luxury Brands Can Create Value for the Long Term
Editor : Palgrave Macmillan
Published in August 2014

REAL LUXURY : le luxe du XXIème siècle

Sans-titre-2
« Une véritable bible pour les étudiants et les professionnels », tels sont les mots utilisés par Yaffa Assouline, PDG de Luxury Culture, pour décrire le nouveau livre de Misha Pinkhasov et Rachna Joshi Nair.

Real Luxury: How Luxury Brands Can Create Value for the Long Term, est une plongée dans l’essence même du luxe. Il définit et révèle de nouvelles solutions pour une industrie qui subi de profondes mutations.

Selon les auteurs, le vrai luxe relève plus d’une forme de leadership, plutôt que de l’égocentrisme et du bling bling auquel on l’associe souvent. Barbara Coignet, fondatrice de 1.618 Paris a même été cité sur le sujet de ce nouveau luxe :

“Luxe et développement durable ne sont pas seulement compatibles par nature mais aussi co-dépendants.”

De nouveaux acteurs émergent tels que Norlha, marque sélectionnée et validée lors de plusieurs éditions de l’Événement 1.618 et également présente dans le Guide 1.618 Sustainable Luxury. Travaillant la laine de Yak, rare et unique, pour créer ces étoles magnifiques, elle met en place un cahier des charges social très strict pour ses ateliers au Népal.

Les grands groupes de luxe adoptent également cette nouvelle définition du luxe. Le groupe Kering, propriétaire de Gucci et Saint Laurent entre autres, a fait du durable un pilier de sa nouvelle stratégie, avec une comptabilité environnementale et des objectifs ambitieux annoncés pour 2016. LVMH a décidé, pendant ce temps, de monter en gamme et mettre en valeur ses marques héritières de traditions et de savoir-faire.

Photo-Rachna

Le point le plus intéressant soulevé par les auteurs est le rôle de figure de proue que jouent les consommateurs de luxe. Dixit Misha et Rachna :

« Le consommateur de luxe est un preneur de décision, il montre l’exemple : célébrité, chef d’état, cadre d’entreprise […] Les marques de luxe utilisent-elles cette relation pour avoir un impact positif sur la société, ou cèdent-elles simplement aux caprices des foules qui suivent ces leaders ? Aussi parce que ce qui démarre dans le luxe se répand dans le marché de masse, nous voyons toute sorte de marque qui s’inspirent avec succès de l’esthétique des marques de luxe. Il devient donc de plus en plus difficile pour les marques de luxe de sortir du lot. »

hp_MishaPinkhasov

Si vous souhaitez découvrir cette encyclopédie du luxe du XXIème siècle et ses auteurs qui ont pris part à la programmation des conférences de l’édition 2014 de l’Événement 1.618 une seule adresse… http://www.realluxurybook.com/

A noter dans vos agendas : lors de votre venue à la prochaine édition de L’Événement 1.618 du 3 au 5 avril 2015 au Carreau du Temple, vous aurez peut être la chance de les rencontrer en personne…

Real Luxury: How Luxury Brands Can Create Value for the Long Term
Editions : Palgrave Macmillan
Publié en août 2014