HAMETHOP: Modern heritage of African know-how

The story of Hamethop is a story of a realization! Despite the unique resources that Africa possesses, the know-how of the continent is not properly represented in Europe. It was during a stay in the United Kingdom that Tsakani Mashaba, the founder, sadly discovered it.

It was for her the time to create a unique and responsible brand, based on the revaluation of African know-how and its craftsmen, who put their heart and unmatching talent into these works.

Through a partnership with retirees and suppliers who have survived the “fast-fashion” business model, Hamethop, meaning “Prosperity of African Culture” is a line of luxury handbags made from vegetable tanned leather or animal remains and natural cotton.

The creations, designed in South Africa, are produced in limited quantities in order to minimize the environmental impact. The craftsmen, paid fairly, are trained to pass on their know-how to the future generations of artisans.

A pioneer of societal change, Hamethop brings a beautiful, modern and innovative aspect to the traditional and local techniques of the weavers of the continent.

The brand is secretly working on a new range of accessories that will come out in April … Stay tuned!

HAMETHOP: Héritage moderne du savoir-faire Africain

L’histoire d’Hamethop, c’est l’histoire d’une réalisation ! Malgré les ressources uniques que possèdent l’Afrique, le savoir-faire du continent n’était pas proprement représenté en Europe. C’est lors d’un séjour au Royaume-Uni que Tsakani Mashaba, la fondatrice, s’en est tristement aperçue.

Basé sur ce constat, il était alors temps de créer une marque unique et responsable, fondée sur la revalorisation du savoir-faire africain et de ses artisans, qui mettent cœur et talent inégalés à concevoir des créations originales et singulières.

A travers un partenariat avec des retraités et des fournisseurs qui ont survécu à la mode du « fast-fashion », Hamethop, signifiant « prospérité de la culture africaine » est une ligne d’accessoires de luxe conçus à base de cuir végétal et de coton naturel, ou provenant de dépouilles animales.

Les créations conçues en Afrique du Sud sont produites en quantités limitées, afin de minimiser l’impact environnemental, et les artisans, payés justement, sont formés de façon à pouvoir transmettre leur savoir-faire aux futures générations.

Pionnière d’un changement sociétal, Hamethop apporte un bel aspect moderne et innovant aux techniques traditionnelles et locales des tisserands du continent.

La marque, membre de la Communauté 1.618, travaille secrètement sur une nouvelle gamme d’accessoires qui verra le jour en Avril… Restez connectés !